The school governors are a group of individuals from a variety of backgrounds, who are elected, nominated or co-opted and are representative of parents/carers and teachers, the Local Authority and the local community. School governors work with the Headteacher and are responsible for setting the strategic direction of the school. 

Governors work to achieve the vision for the school - "to provide pupils with the knowledge, skills and understanding that will prepare them to play a full and active part in society; for all children to be healthy, safe, engaged, supported and challenged and to promote the long-term development and success of all".  We will achieve our vision by "learning through hard work, friendship and fun".

If you would like to be a school governor please contact the Headteacher or Chair of Governors to find out about any vacancies and to ask for a Governor’s Information Pack.

Below is a list of present members of the Governing Body.


Parent Governors are elected by other parents at the school and usually have a term of office of four years, even if their child leaves school during that time. Parent Governors are representative of the parent body but the views they express at meetings are their own.


Headteachers have an automatic right to a place on the Governing Body. At least one Staff Governor place should be available for an elected teacher and a member from non teaching staff.


LA’s may appoint any suitable person to the Governing Body. Nominations can be made by the local political parties.


Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body on the basis that they have “the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school”. The number of Co-opted Governors who are eligible to be Staff Governors, when counted with the Head Teacher and the Staff Governor, cannot exceed one third of total membership.


Mill Lane Governors have adopted the NGA code of conduct August 2023 (click here)

Click here to view or download The Register of Business Interests for School Governors for September 2023- new document will be updated to record governor changes in March 2024.



Chair of Governors (Co-opted)- Mrs Anisa Iltaf

Headteacher- Miss Christine

Elected Staff- Mrs Claire Prendergast   

Co-opted staff- Mrs Gayna Goalby 

Co-opted governor- Mrs Hawa Rawat    

Co-opted governor- Mrs Rehana Raja 

LA governor- Miss Cecilia Winnett                                                                                                                                        


In September 2023 the governors of Mill Lane Primary School decided to combine the Resources and Standards & Effectiveness Committees into one combined sub-committee until more governors could be recruited.

This would be a temporary measure and reviewed once additional governor recruitment had taken place or in February 2023.

The membership of the combined committee will be as follows:

Mrs H Rawat (Chair)

Mrs G Goalby

Mrs C Prendergast

Miss C Barlow